AfriCOG's role is to foster partnerships between a number of organisations to fulfill its mission and vision. The following 18 organisations are the "founding partners" in AfriCOG:



University of Fort Hare



Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University



Rhodes University



University of Cape Town



Department of Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries, University of Dar es Salaam



Sam Nujoma Marine and Coastal Resources Research Centre, University of Namibia



World Maritime University



International Ocean Institute



Benguela Current Commission



Oceanographic Research Institute



South African Environmental Observation Network



South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity



South African National Biodiversity Institute



Bayworld Centre for Research and Education



Nelson Mandela Bay Maritime Cluster



International Union for Conservation of Nature



GEF International Waters Learning Exchange and Resource Network



GEF financed UNDP supported Agulhas and Somali Current Large Marine Ecosystems Project